Omusati Overview

Omusati at a glance

The region’s name Omusati, comes from the Oshiwamo word ‘omusati’ which means ‘Mopane’ - the Mopani tree being the dominant species in the region.

An area commonly known as Owamboland in the north of Namibia consists of four regions, Omusati, Oshana, Ohangwena, and Oshikoto, and by Namibian standards, this area has an unusually dense population. Omusati has over 228 000 inhabitants, as of the 2001 population census, which makes it the region with the second-largest population while Ohangwena has just under 228 000 making it the third-largest. This area is named after the Owambo people, who are Namibia's largest cultural group, a group that makes up slightly more than half of the population. The capital of this region is Outapi, also known as Uutapi and Ombalantu.

The region is home to Ruacana Falls. The waterfall is 120 meters (390 ft) high and 700 meters (2,300 ft) wide in full flood and is among the largest waterfalls in Africa, both by volume and width. Omusati is also home to the Omugulugwombashe Heritage Site, where the Namibian struggle for independence started in 1966.

Omusati Map